Coalition of Arizona Bicyclist’s Annual member’s meeting 10/18/2016


There is a plan to hold an in-person meeting sometime in the Spring 2017 as we transition our corporate year for Arizona Corporation Commission purposes.


Below are the minutes of the meeting (approved at the 3/21/2017 Board of Directors meeting):

2016 Annual Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, October 18, 2016 Attendees: Bob Beane, Bob Jenson, Wayne Churchman, Ed Beighe, Peter Mather, Gail Hildebrant, Sharon Newman Matt, Lloyd Thomas, Jeff Kafleck, Radar Matt

Called to order at 1837

Treasures Report Gail Hildebrant Checking Account $725.15 Savings Account $515.53 High Yield Account $32,872.55 Total 34,113.23 Report was accepted. Spread sheet shows that regular spending is typically under $2,000/yr. Most of that is for the storage locker & the monthly conference bridge.

Overview of what we are working on: State level: GOHS, ADOT, More input into the drivers license testing. Improve PSA/bikes Power point that was created for GPD. Sierra Vista PD has made contact.

Maricopa County: E bike – California has law classifying an E bike as a motorcycle. Tempe is in the process of drafting its own city laws. We need to get ahead of this, so we don’t end up with a lot of city or county ordinances.

Pecos Freeway: PARC & GRIC are still trying to block it. Sit is still unclear if cyclist will have access to the shoulder. Next meeting is 10/20/16 at the State capitol.

Regional priorities: Tucson- Yuma- Tempe-Lloyd Thomas-Traffic counts support the traffic calming on McClintock. Metro Phoenix-Bob Jenson- Light rail is extending to Dunlap for Metro Center access. No increase in bike facilities on the light rail. City is looking into putting bike lanes on several E-W major streets. Next meeting 10/20 at College of America

Bike Summit: still questionable Fri 3/31 or Sat. 4/1 Wayne Churchman to get back to us next week, on whether Perimeter would split the cost of the rooms. We need to take a survey of what last year attendees would care for.

Elections: CAzB is now at 8 Board Members with the resignation of Ben Dodge.

Leave A Comment