Coalition of Arizona Bicyclist’s Annual member’s meeting 10/18/2022

This year, the annual business meeting will be held via video tele-conference.
A business meeting and election of open board of directors seats will be held.

  • Tuesday, October 18 , 2022 at 6:30PM Arizona Time.

Members in good standing who wish to attend/listen/vote please contact no later than 10/13 to obtain the phone in details. Not a member? Click here to join.

Nominations, or self-nominations for the Board of Directors are still open, and as always we’re looking for volunteers in any capacity.

see 2021 annual meeting minutes.

AGENDA 6:30 – 6:45 pm

  • Treasurer’s Report
  • Special Recognition: Bob Beane is retiring from active duty with the Coalition after many years of service
  • Board Elections; See below. Additional nominations are open

6:45 – 7:30 PM

  • Elaine Mariolle, ADOT Bicycle and Pedestrian Coordinator
  • Kerry Wilcoxon, ADOT State Safety Engineer. Discuss Arizona Crash Facts



Coalition of Arizona Bicyclists finances total $34,195.38 as of August 30, 2022:
Checking $5,320.77
High Yield Savings $28,874.61
Respectfully submitted by CAzBike Treasurer Gail Hildebrant


We currently have 9 directors; (with a maximum of 15 per bylaws). Directors serve two-year terms, current member’s expiration are listed below; the two seats expiring in 2022 will be voted on, as well as any new nominations:

  • Tom Armstrong, Sierra Vista (2023)
  • — open — (2022)
  • Ed Beighe, Phoenix (2022)
  • Gail Hildebrant, Glendale (2022)
  • Bernie Hoenle, Fountain Hills (2022)
  • Bob Jenson, Phoenix (2022)
  • Sharon Matt, Phoenix (2022)
  • Eric Post, Tucson (2023)
  • Earl Ratledge (2023)
  • Lloyd Thomas, Tempe (2022)

BOARD ELECTIONS: new nominations

Michael Kuzel — Mr. Michael Kuzel has lived in the Phoenix metropolitan area for over 34 years, having moved to Tempe to attend Arizona State University. One of the most important items he brought with him was his road bicycle. As a teenager, he began riding for transportation and Mike has continued his lifelong love of bicycles and bicycling, riding for exercise, transportation, to spend time with his family, as well as participating in sanctioned races and citizens rides.
Mike has obtained degrees in bioengineering, industrial engineering and applied psychology. He has obtained the professional designations of Professional Engineer, Certified Human Factors Professional, and Road Safety Professional. Mike is a League of America Bicyclists Certified Instructor and an American Bicycling Education Association Cycling Savvy Instructor. Mike has found ways to incorporate aspects of bicycling into his education and his professional career. The research he conducted for his master’s degree in Applied Psychology involved using a driving simulator in studying driver overtaking maneuvers of cyclists with different types of facilities and road conditions. Mike has also been a member of the City of Scottsdale Transportation Commission (3 years) and Paths and Trails Subcommittee (six years).
Currently, Mike manages his own safety engineering consultancy, is a faculty associate at Arizona State University in the Ira A Fulton School of Engineering and is a Safety Program Associate for the Maricopa Association of Governments. Since 2011, Mike has participated as the human factors expert on teams conducting safety assessments of intersections and roadways throughout the State of Arizona. His role on these teams often involves providing insight relating to the needs and experiences of bicycle riders. Mike’s current work with MAG involves providing his expertise to the See Me AZ program that promotes bicycle and pedestrian safety, involvement in conducting safe routes to schools studies, and conducting road safety assessments.
Mike believes that cycling safety is best increased through education of riders and drivers alike. Infrastructure changes, such as bike lanes, are slow and costly, while modifications to behavior, based on principles founded in safety education programs can have an immediate and lasting
effect to reduce risk of crashes for cyclists of all types and ages.

Billy Ovid Boyles — First and foremost, I’ve been a biker since I was ten years old. I was the first kid in my school to own a ‘road’ bike, with ten speeds and the drop-down handlebars. Later, I would work as a bicycle courier in Washington D.C. Now I’m 65 and I don’t own a vehicle, most of the time I convey myself on a ten-year-old Specialized Rock Hopper. I’m retired after 30 years from the Information Technology field and I spend my time writing crazy fiction novels and serials. I’ve got experience with many of the urban bicycle paths in Phoenix and I appreciate what was done on 3rd Avenue, where the lanes are wide and there are pylons every thirty feet. Now that’s a bicycle lane. I think it’s possible to get more people to commute via bicycle if there were more roadway designated for cyclists. I’m willing to represent cyclists everywhere in Arizona who want to improve biking conditions for everyone.

MEETING MINUTES (approved at 11/15 Board Meeting) #minutes

Meeting was held Oct 18, 2022 at 6:30pm via google Meet.

In attendance, board members: Tom Armstrong, Ed Beighe, Gail Hildebrant, Bernie Hoenle (by proxy), Bob Jenson, Sharon Matt, Earl Ratledge.
Guests: Kerry Wilcoxon, Elaine Mariolle, and Luis Vasquez of ADOT; and Pether Mather and Billy Boyles

Voting for Board of Directors —

Bob Beane is retiring from the board. We heartily thank Bob for all his advocacy work over the years.

Ed B read the names of the the other six seats expiring this term and nominated them for new terms: Ed Beighe, Hildebrant, Bernie Hoenle, Bob Jenson, Sharon Matt and Lloyd Thomas; Tom A seconded, and Voted & passed unanimously by all present.

Ed B nominated Billy Boyles for a new 2 year term on the board, Tom A seconded, and Voted & passed unanimously by all present.

Ed B nominated Michael Kuzel for a new 2 year term on the board, Tom A seconded, and Voted & passed unanimously by all present.

The newly constituted board, along with expiration, in alphabetical order:

  • Tom Armstrong, Sierra Vista (2023)
  • Ed Beighe, Phoenix (2024)
  • Billy Boyles, Phoenix (2024)
  • Gail Hildebrant, Glendale (2024)
  • Bernie Hoenle, Fountain Hills (2024)
  • Bob Jenson, Phoenix (2024)
  • Michael Kuzel, Scottsdale (2024)
  • Sharon Matt, Phoenix (2024)
  • Eric Post, Tucson (2023)
  • Earl Ratledge (2023)
  • Lloyd Thomas, Tempe (2024)

Officer elections were deferred to the next meeting of the new board, nominally Nov 15. The balance of the meeting was presentations by ADOT:

Elaine Mariolle , is the new Arizona state Bicycle and Pedestrian coordinator.

Kerry Wilcoxon , State Traffic Safety Engineer gave a presentation on Arizona’s crash statistics, with a focus on bicyclist crashes; with the sobering news that in 2021 an all-time record number of bicyclists were killed (and pedestrians) in Arizona; even as the number of reported bicyclist crashes continues to fall. Kerry also explained that while he/they (ADOT) is responsible for collating crash information state-wide, ADOT has only a direct influence on the “State highway system”, where relatively few bicyclist crashes occur. You can view the presentation here on our google drive.

Meeting adjourned 7:45pm

Respectfully submitted, Ed Beighe, president.

One Response to “Coalition of Arizona Bicyclist’s Annual member’s meeting 10/18/2022”
Leave A Comment